Slide Guitar of Muddy Waters

Slide Guitar of Muddy

McKinley Morganfield, better known as Muddy Waters, grew up on Stovall Plantation near Clarksdale, MS where he learned to play guitar in the regional style emulating local legends Son House and Robert Johnson. In 1941 and 1942 Muddy made his first recordings for Alan Lomax (Library of Congress) who came to Stovall to record various country blues musicians. These first recordings gave Muddy the confidence to move north to Chicago with the hopes of becoming a full time musician. He purchased his first electric guitar in 1944 and in only a few short years not only achieved his goal but became a major star recording hits like "I Can't Be Satisfied", "I Feel Like Going Home", "I Got My Mojo Working," "I Just Want to Make Love To You" and many more with his infamous band. This raw electric sound ushered in a new era of blues and Chicago, Chess Records, and Muddy Waters where the epicenter. In this lesson Tom Feldmann takes you through 6 of Muddy's staple slide tunes in Open G, Open D and Standard Tuning. Feldmann teaches each song slowly, phrase by phrase, making this a perfect lesson for those new to playing slide as well as the more seasoned players looking to get deeper into the mind and music of the great Muddy Waters. A detailed tab/music PDF file is included on the DVD. Titles...

  • ASIN: B079229SL3
  • UPC: 796279114219

The Chess Box :Muddy Waters

The Chess Box :Muddy

  • Brand: Long distance
  • ASIN: B000002Q40
  • UPC: 076741080229

Muddy Waters: The Anthology, 1947-1972

Muddy Waters: The Anthology,

  • ASIN: B00005NHLY
  • UPC: 008811264925

At Newport, 1960

At Newport,

This 1960 recording-the greatest live blues album ever-is made even better with this reissue! I've Got My Mojo Working; (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man , and the rest of this famed set are now joined by the four-song studio session Muddy recorded the previous month, plus new notes and photos!

  • ASIN: B000059T1V
  • UPC: 008811251529

King Bee



  • Brand: Sony BMG Special Markets
  • ASIN: B0012GMWIE
  • UPC: 886972389127

Blues Masters, Vol. 18: More Slide Guitar Classics

Blues Masters, Vol. 18: More Slide Guitar

This collection in the ever-expanding Blues Masters series is the second to feature slide guitar work, and it picks up quite a few essential tunes that were missed on the first go-round. Among others, this includes Muddy Waters performing a low-key version of "I Can't Be Satisfied," Elmore James going nice and slow on "The Sky Is Crying," Blind Willie Johnson's fire-and-brimstone voice (which at times overwhelms his guitar playing) on "I Know His Blood Can Make Me Whole," and Son House's excellent "Death Letter." And there are plenty of other artists represented here as well; Hound Dog Taylor with "Take Five," Earl Hooker with "Wah Wah Blues," Johnny Winter with "Dallas," and even Chuck Berry makes an appearance with "Blues for Hawaiians." There's probably nothing here that the die-hard blues fan hasn't heard before, but it's an excellent cross-section of the blues in general and slide guitar in particular, a technique that's almost unrivalled in terms of its sheer expressive power. --Genevieve Williams

  • ASIN: B000007RQD
  • UPC: 081227534820

The London Muddy Waters Sessions

The London Muddy Waters

The London Muddy Waters Sessions by Muddy WatersWhen sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

  • ASIN: B000002OB1
  • UPC: 076732929827

Hard Again



  • ASIN: B00023GGGW
  • UPC: 696998681729

The Best of Muddy Waters

The Best of Muddy

Best of Muddy Waters Muddy Waters Format: Audio CD

  • Brand: Muddy Waters
  • ASIN: B000008M4Z
  • UPC: 076731126821

His Best 1947-55 (chess 50th Anniversary Collectio

His Best 1947-55 (chess 50th Anniversary

  • Brand: Muddy Waters
  • ASIN: B000005KQH
  • UPC: 076732937020

I Can't Be Satisfied

I Can't Be

  • ASIN: B00CV8P8I8

The Lost Tapes

The Lost

  • ASIN: B00000J7V3
  • UPC: 019148505421

The Real Folk Blues / More Real Folk Blues

The Real Folk Blues / More Real Folk

  • Brand: Muddy Waters
  • ASIN: B000062Y88
  • UPC: 008811282226

Rollin Stone: Golden Anniversary Collection

Rollin Stone: Golden Anniversary

Having achieved success with his landmark 1941 recordings for John and Alan Lomax and the Library of Congress (released under his given name, McKinley Morganfield), Muddy Waters moved to Chicago two years later--and took the future of American popular music with him. In 1947, he began recording for Aristocrat Records with piano wizard Sunnyland Slim and band, then alone with bassist Ernest "Big" Crawford and sometimes two or three more sidemen, turning out a body of work unmatched by any other postwar bluesman. This brilliant compilation, produced by Andy McKaie, spans the five years during which Aristocrat became the legendary Chess Records and Muddy emerged as a preeminent blues master known for his raw vocals and vital guitar. Showcased here are such seminal gems as "I Can't Be Satisfied," "Feel Like Goin' Home," "Mean Red Spider," "All Night Long," and "Long Distance Call," plus two takes of the cultural cornerstone "Rollin' Stone." --Alan Greenberg

  • Brand: MCA UNIVER
  • ASIN: B00004U0OT
  • UPC: 008811230128

Muddy Waters: Live (At Mr. Kelly's)

Muddy Waters: Live (At Mr.

Muddy Waters: Live (At Mr. Kelly's) by Muddy WatersWhen sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

  • ASIN: B000002OBT
  • UPC: 076732933824
Similar Muddy Waters Slide Guitar Results